DIY Nerd Wreath (with hanging monogrammed letter)

Leave a comment

May 24, 2013 by thenerdyhousewife

My dearest space cadets,

So in my many hours of pouring over Pinterest in an effort to find ideas to improve my house, I have seen probably 1,467,325 different ideas for front door wreaths. Some are adorable, some are gaudy and garish. The one problem I had with all of them was that while some of them might look nice and have that “Martha Stewart approved” stamp written all over them, they just weren’t me. Therefore, instead of duplicating all of the Pinterest/HGTV wannabe wreaths for my nerdy household, I came up with a simple solution:
2013-03-18 17.48.20

First off, I would like to note that this project is a work in progress. I have certainly not finished with it yet, but this is how it’s going so far.

 

Things you will require for this project:

  • Monogrammed letter (mine is wooden, but can be anything with a ‘modge-pode-able’ surface)
  • Fabric or paper for letter’s surface (Mine is some sweet looking Avengers fabric!)
  • Modge podge (I used matte, but its users choice)
  • Exacto-knife
  • Scissors
  • Pen, eyeliner, or whatever you want to trace fabric with (something that is easily visible but won’t bleed through your fabric/paper
  • Ribbon to hang letter with
  • Plain wreath
  • Anything you want to stick into to show off your favorite fandoms! Pins, patches, action figures, etc…(However, if its going to be hanging outside your door, then make sure its stuff that wouldn’t upset you to part with in case some jerk steals it. Or if it falls off the wreath and breaks. Or Nargles take it.)

 

Step 1.) Place your letter face down on your fabric. Trace your letter and cut out.

2013-02-27 21.54.31

Step 2.) Modge podge the crap out of the front of your letter. Then quickly put your cut-out letter into place on top. You will have a bit of wiggle room to get it into place, but don’t take too long! I also recommend getting a credit card or something similar to smooth out any bubbles that might get trapped.

Step 3.) Let it lay out to dry for about 4-6 hours.

2013-02-27 22.20.34

Step 4.) Add a thin layer of modge podge to the top of your letter. If you’ve never ‘modge podged’ before, I am saying literally add it to top of what you just glued on the letter. This seals it in and gives it the coolest feeling!

Step 5.) Allow this dry another 4-6 hours.

Step 6.) Flip your letter over and use your exacto-knife to cut excess from your letter.

2013-03-17 22.06.51

Step 7.) Use ribbon to hang finished monogrammed letter at desired length on your door from wreath hook (or however it is you will have your wreath hanging up there lol)

Step 8.) Take plain wreath and stick all of your awesomeness inside. You may have to play around with this for a bit until you get things where you want them. Then you are finished and ready to hang it up! Here are my nods to some of my favorite fandoms in my wreath:

2013-03-18 17.49.04

Batman, Darth Vader, and even though you can’t see it up close here, there is a Superman pin under Batman’s feet.

2013-03-18 17.49.39

Even though I’m a Ravenclaw (according to Pottermore), I have a Gryffindor metal bookmark hooked on to a Nimbus 2000 bookmark, both of which came with a special edition dvd set of HP 5. Also, the giant number 42 is, of course, the answer to life, the universe, and everything, according to Douglas Adam’s Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. Yes, they are birthday candles. I plan to replace them with less craptastic-looking numbers later. lol

2013-03-18 17.52.27

Here is a Mockingjay pin from The Hunger Games, sitting underneath my 3 Doctor Who pins which have the T.A.R.D.I.S. exploding in Vincent Van Gogh’s picture entitled “The Pandorica Opens” on one of them, a Dalek declaring ‘Victory’ in another, and then of course, my favorite saying from the show–“Wibbley Wobbley, Timey Whimey”! (Also, you can see it in the big picture at the top, but there is a ‘Bomb-O’ from Mario Brothers below the Hunger Games patch.)

It’s such a fun and quick project that I hope someone will see this and be inspired. I know there are sooo many variations you could do with this that the results would just be endless. If you decided to make one, please please please send me pictures so I can see it!

In other news, I am going to the Renaissance Fair in 2 days for my wedding anniversary (Yes, you read that correctly. What do you expect from a nerd like me?) and on a scale of 1 to Spongebob, I’M READY!!!

I will doing a few posts in the next few weeks about Renaissance fair style, costumes, what to expect, hair-dos, etc…So stay tuned! That’s all for now, Space Cadets. Remember to sign up on the side of the page to get email updates from my blog, hit like below, and follow me on Facebook and Twitter (at the top of the page)!

-The Nerdy Housewife

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Calendar

May 2013
M T W T F S S
« Mar    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
