DIY Toddler/Child’s Costume Kit

1

May 18, 2013 by thenerdyhousewife

Dearest Space Cadets,

Yes, I am very, very, very bad person. I promised I would blog, and then I got sick (like near hospitalization-sick), so I took some time off to recoup. Then I proceeded to have a 2 month long pity party because I started figuring out that none of my family or friends read this. Not the best feeling in the world, let me tell you. But you know what? I do this for me. And any other nerdy people who also like crafting. So no more pity party. Time to get to it.

So during my 2 month hiatus, crafting stuff still totally happened, it just never got posted. Like this child’s costume kit that I made for my sweet nephew, Jasper for his 2nd birthday. That kid has more energy than a space launch, and is (obviously) the apple of the whole family’s eye. The other thing he is especially known for is his amazing fashion sense. And by that, I mean wearing his cowboy boots with EVERYTHING, and a hat (preferably an adult sized trucker hat) on his adorable little head. So for his birthday, I came up with this:
2013-03-29 01.23.051

Now, the great thing about this is that you can customize this to the kid. I mostly went for hats for Jasper because the boot situation is rarely up for discussion with him. But hats are usually his favorite, especially if there are enough to go around because everyone should always be wearing one in his opinion.

I really wanted to be able to find a cute wooden chest to put all the costumes in, but I couldn’t find one anywhere close to my budget, so I improvised. Plastic tub + stick-on foam letters from Hobby Lobby=budget friendly solution. Also, I wish that I could sew worth a lick because I would have just made him some costumes. That would be another possible budget-friendly option.
2013-03-29 01.17.561

The kit included:

Luckily, it was a big hit with him on his big day!

2013-03-29 19.33.561

The little viking

2013-03-29 19.34.051

Future Harry Potter fan? This proud aunty thinks so!

2013-03-29 19.35.261

Capes are so much fun

2013-03-29 19.38.561

The train conductor hat and train whistle were his favorites 🙂

So a few weeks later, I was over to babysit and we tried on the apron from the baking set. But of course the ball cap and boots had to make an appearance too!

17197_573394003656_291602070_n

You’re totes jelly of his swag, right?

Considering how much he loved it, and how I will definitely be instilling nerdy qualities early into my own future children, I will probably be making several more of these kits before all is said and done. Although, my own children will (of course) have stuff from Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Star Wars, and all of the other great fandoms to chose from in their kits. (The generic wizard hat was all I could get past my brother-in-law & sister-in-law for Jasper’s kit, but I swear I’ll have him reading Harry Potter one day!)

That’s all for now, Space Cadets!

P.S.) Please feel free to sign up for email updates, and follow me on Facebook and Twitter (buttons at the top of the page)!

One thought on “DIY Toddler/Child’s Costume Kit

  1. very cleaver. i remember when my daughter loved to dress up. I’m glad she had an aunt that sewed and made her lots of costumes. great memories for all of us.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Calendar

May 2013
M T W T F S S
« Mar    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
