Magazine rack–Not just for magazines anymore?

Leave a comment

March 5, 2013 by thenerdyhousewife

Hello again Space Cadets,

Back about 4 years ago, within the first year of my marriage to my wonderful husband, (I don’t want him to get a big head or anything), we both lived with my husband’s older brother in a house/barn together. Yes, you read that correctly.  It is a large building that is literally a house that connects to a barn and is partially surrounded by fenced-in pastures. And cows. There were lots of cows. *shudder* That’s how we do things in Oklahoma (not really).

The point of this was that the whole house part was designed a little unconventionally compared to a normal house, but it worked pretty well for the most part. The one thing I miss was the bathroom. It was HUGE compared to our current one. The reason being was that it also doubled as the laundry room.

Now here is the actual point to this history lesson. There was this slightly awkward space between the sink/vanity and the toilet. So my brother-in-law stuffed this wire magazine rack in between the space. I didn’t think much about it until one day, I came in and found my hair dryer had been sanctimoniously shoved into said magazine rack! The horror! I was ready to pounce when it occurred to me that that was a pretty dang perfect spot for it. And my hair straightener as well! And while we’re at it, we can stack toilet paper in the bottom of it so we don’t have reach so far when we are sitting there and realized we forgot to put out a new roll. This was just too awesome!

So after we moved out of the barn/house and into our new house, I begged my brother-in-law to let me keep the magazine rack, which he so kindly bequeathed to me. In our new house, as luck would have it, we (again) have an awkward space in the bathroom. This time it is between the vanity and the wall, as seen here.

2013-02-16 00.46.51-2

So, as you can see, the magazine rack saved me again and provided the perfect filler for the space AND gave me an out-of-the-way place to store my hair dryer and straightener! This makes me one happy housewife 🙂

2013-02-16 00.46.23-2

So this makes me wonder, what kind of secondary uses have you found for items around your home? I’d love to hear them in the comments section!

Also, don’t forget to sign up so you’ll get an email when I post new content. Aaaand you can follow me on facebook or twitter (links at the top of the page!)

-The Nerdy housewife

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Calendar

March 2013
M T W T F S S
« Feb   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
