Harry Potter Party (Part 1)

2

January 25, 2013 by thenerdyhousewife

Greetings Space Cadets!

I haven’t had a post for you in a while, and I apologize for that. I’ve been fighting (and losing) numerous battles with a certain website (which you could ‘oogle’ at *cheap hint*) to approve me for a pay per click account. This is also why, if you ever saw my blog before, that it looks drastically different. I’m trying to appease the ‘oogle’ gods so I will be approved, so that means changing things up a bit. I’m not happy about it, but short of performing a rain dance with a leprechaun under a full moon while drenched in blood of a new born octopus, I’m running out of ideas. Ok, that got weird fast. Moving on…

So I noticed that as “The Nerdy Housewife”, I haven’t posted anything really nerdy yet. Therefore, I decided that as a way to open up with that, I should share with you all a bit from my past that showcased me in alllll of my nerdiness. So I give you:

Harry Potter Party 2009!

A group of my friends and I decided to have a spur of the moment Harry Potter party during Christmas break from college one year. We had a great turn out, but only had three of us doing the planning/decorating/cooking and only one day to do it. So forgive the shoddyness of the whole thing. But I think we did a pretty good job for not having much time to do it in!

I’ll start off with a picture of me in my Tonks costume:

225

I made my own “Weird Sisters” shirt (Tonk’s favorite band, of course) with iron-on letters. The skirt, boots, tights, and bat necklace I already had. The ‘pleather’ biker gloves I got off Ebay, and my hair is just cheap Halloween spray-in dye. It took 2 cans and didn’t it as pink as I wanted, but oh well. Also, it made my hair stiff as the straw on my broom.

248

My broom turned out better than I expected. Just bought a regular kitchen broom and covered the handle and metal wire holding the bristles on in black electrical tape. Then I wrapped the tape several times around the bottle to give it that look. It was as close as I could get on short notice!

*I have many more photos of people in costume, but I don’t think they would appreciate me plastering questionably embarrassing photos of them on the internet. However, I have a few that don’t show faces so those are fair game, right?

211

It would be impossible to say who had the best costume of the night, but this one was definitely the most creative: The Whomping Willow! Complete with sticks, dried leaves, and a blue Ford Anglia (Ok, yes I know its a race car, but remember only 24 hours to plan!). She completed the costume with a brown shirt that said “WHOMP”. It was pretty dang epic to say the least.

212

Also, it’s hard to tell, but the stringy thing there was supposed to be a mini broomstick (aka Harry’s Nimbus 2000). Adorable 🙂

One person came as Bellatrix Lestrange and over did herself by drawing this incredible dark mark on herself!

One person came as Bellatrix Lestrange and over did herself by drawing this incredible dark mark on herself!

256

Another person came as Luna Lovegood (She even had the glasses!). Here is her homemade wand and homemade issue of the Quibbler (which she correctly held upside down all night).

245

It’s hard to see in this picture, but upon entering the party, guests were greeted with the message “The Chamber of Secrets has been opened. Enemies of the heir, beware.” We used red lipstick, but in hindsight, I wish we could have used fake blood.

201

The mirror in the bathroom read “Her skeleton will lie in the chamber forever.”

239

Guests were asked to sign one of 4 signs (if applicable to their character): Death Eaters, The Order of the Phoenix, The Inquisitorial Squad, or Dumbledore’s Army. (Notice how the Whomping Willow signed lol)

252

Our horcruxes. Again, we had to make due with what we could find short notice. Also, if you are counting, yes, there is one missing. The Sword of Griffindor was confiscated by Draco Malfoy at some point so it’s not in the photo.

* I have some more photos which showcase some quickly perused decorations such as the Mirror of Erised (which is just a plain mirror with ribbon on it) and our potions bottles, but they aren’t very impressive so I’ll leave it to your imagination.

We also played a few games (while all the movie soundtracks played in the background) which included a very loud round of Harry Potter Charades and Harry Potter themed “Circle of Death”. We also gave everyone a piece of paper and had them think of as many characters from the books/movies as they could in a certain amount of time. And as the night was winding down, we had everyone take turns in a circle saying a quote from the books or movies and if you messed it up, or couldn’t think of one, you had to drink.

Anyway, that’s about it for this part of the post. Take a look at Part 2 to see the best part: the food!

-The Nerdy Housewife

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter Party (Part 1)

  1. Jeyna Grace says:

    Love the hair design.. it reminds me of Molly Weasley.

  2. […] wanted to get this out ASAP after I posted Part 1, but a night that involved Japanese Hibachi, ice cream, a couple of vodka shots, and lots of sleep […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Calendar

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
